RSS

Learning Colours

30 May

Our first book for this program – Brown Bear, Brown Bear by Eric Carle. I chose this book because DS2 is quite familiar and likes this book. My aim for this month is to work on colours and shapes. I hope use this book to introduce colours and colour words in Arabic.

Activity Idea 1: Story sequencing

I got the template for this cards from Making Learning Fun. Besides the usual story sequencing, I changed the rhyme to “Brown bear, brown bear who made you?” We talked about Allah the Creator – He is “Al-Khaliq”.

I attached magnets to the back of these. This allows us to use them on our magnetic board (or a baking pan) and change how we sequence them.

Activity idea 2: Rhyme

Brown bear, brown bear who made? Who made you?

Allah made, Allah made me and you too . . . and so on

(Tune of Where is Thumb Kin nursery rhyme). We do have a Muslim Nursery Rhyme along this line, hence the idea.

Activity idea 3: Arabic colour words

I got these from an Arabic Yahoo Group. There are many Arabic resources on Yemen Link. Unfortunately my browser hasn’t been able to open the files on this website😦. With these we have been playing colour matching and practicing colours in Arabic.

Activity idea 4 : Colour dice game

I pasted different colours onto this oversized dollar store dice. The idea is to roll the dice and point the animal with the matching colour.

Activity idea 4: Matching tail

Got this idea from 1+1+1=1. I still haven’t had a chance to get it bound. Will update.

Insya-Allah I have been reading other concept books that emphasize on colours & shapes and we are doing some crafts as well.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 30, 2010 in Together We Read

 

Leave a Reply

 
