RSS

Time to Pray by Maha Addasi

12 Oct

When I borrowed White Nights of Ramadhan from our local library, I further searched for more titles by Maha Addasi. I found Time to Pray. What a gem of a book this is.

I used this book as a follow up on the Adhaan topic that we did. In this story a little girl visits her grandma in a Middle East country. During her stay, she hears the adhaan from the minaret nearby. The story weaves the the call of adhaan, actions of wudhu, salaat, times of salaat and the sweet relationship between grandma and the little girl very well.

It was a sweet story that my son was able to identify with at many levels. Excitement of visiting grandma, struggles of waking up for Fajr, prayer cloth – he sees me wearing one, adhaan clock definitely. It was a wonderful book for sure.

This book has beautiful illustrations done by Ned Gannon as with White Nights of Ramadan. The nice thing about this book is that each page had Arabic translation of the story. Great for parents who are looking for Arabic reading material.

On a personal level, this book brought back memories of me growing up hearing the adhaan, climbing up the minaret and now, yes having an adhaan clock to remind me of salaat times (makes me want to cry).

 

The State Mosque, Seremban, Negeri Sembilan, Malaysia

 

I lived just down the street from this unique mosque, hearing the adhaan five times a day. In fact every morning before fajr you can actually hear Quran recitation over the speakers.

I was sent to after school madrasah at the Jamek Mosque below.

 

Masjid Jamek, Seremban, Negeri Sembilan, Malaysia

 

As children my brothers and I played tag around the minaret waiting for our alim to come. In those days people could climb up the minaret. They didn’t call the adhaan from up there even back then thanks to speakers.

In the Time to Pray book the little girl is disappointed by this fact. My son actually asked the same question about the muezzin climbing up he minaret. Insya-Allah our next trip to Malaysia, I’ll have to take him to the Jamek Mosque even though he will not be able to climb up the minaret!

We also made a minaret craft out of paper towel rolls as an extension activity for this book.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 12, 2010 in Ibadat, Islamic Studies, Reading/Books

 

2 responses to “Time to Pray by Maha Addasi

  1. Maha Addasi

    March 29, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    Thank you so much for taking the time to read and comment on Time to Pray. When I wrote the book, it was from the heart and to directly capture the essence of the grandmother/grand-daughter relationship. Your review of the athan and your experience with the call to prayer and how you want to take your children to the mosque in your hometown touched my heart.

    Sincerely,
    Maha

     

Leave a Reply

 
