RSS

Cooking with kids

24 Feb

Watching this add brought back memories of my own childhood. Growing up in a family that was in the food business, I practically grew up in the kitchen. Counting coconuts, measuring sugar and rice and chopping lots and lots of onions. In all I learnt a tonne while having fun.

I knew I wanted my children to grow up making memories in he kitchen too. To experience the wonder of making food from scratch.  To know ingredients and to appreciate the time and effort that goes into preparing food – ah yes I have three boys.

Putting the whole memory thing aside. I knew cooking would present a wonderful opportunity to practice all those Montessori tray activities for real. I have a hard time keeping those trays away from my two year old anyways.

We have embarked on a Alphafood Venture. Insya-Allah we are going to learn one new letter a week. Each week my four year old and I will attempt to make something using the ingredient that starts with the letter of the week.

I am sure this idea has been done by many before me. Here are some sites that I found that runs along the same platform.

Cooking With Kids by Linda Fredericks

Cooking Up The Alphabet – a Squidoo page

I hope to find some much simpler recipes that would give my son the opportunity to practice motor skills like measuring, stirring, transferring, rolling etc. and brush up on my own cooking skills🙂

Insya-Allah we hope to have lots of fun learning the alphabet while spending time together making yummy food.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 24, 2011 in AlphaFood Venture

 

2 responses to “Cooking with kids

  1. Aisha

    June 11, 2013 at 11:18 am

    AOA Dear SR. u hv amazing website with amazing content which I wud love to come back, but I just would like to request that there r some explicit images coming as ad on your page and inshALlah u can take care oif that ASAP JZK ALLAH MAY ALLAH SWT PROTECT U N BLESS U AMEEN

     
    • Umm Sayang

      June 15, 2013 at 9:22 pm

      Assalamualaikum.
      Alhamdulillah you like the content of what I blog.
      Thank you for the alert. However, I have checked as well as requested other readers to check my blog, there doesn’t seem to be any ads at all. I am not sure how it is showing on your screen.

       

Leave a Reply

 
