RSS

Crepe Paper Painting Fish Craft

05 May

I have been doing crafts based on books with my children for a while now. I was thrilled to discover  stART at A Mommy’s Adventures and have linked up a few times now.

However I still wanted my children to experience and explore art in its natural form. Using more imagination and experiment with materials and techniques and appreciate the process itself. I attempted to this with our tortoise craft and witnessed the delight and excitement of my son.

Below is a book that I came across at our library. Subhanallah, it fitted perfectly for what I was looking for as a guide book.

Each project is broken down into Materials, Preparation and Process and some with Tips and Variations. This makes it very easy to organize a project with a child. In the introduction to the book, the author writes, “It’s the Process, Not the Product”. That title says it all and is exactly what I was looking for. There are also tonnes of ideas at the author’s blog as well.

Alhamdulillah, here is a paper plate fish I made with my two-year old using the Paper Stain Painting technique from the book. Obviously we used the technique to paint the plate and then used the end product to craft something else based on the book we were reading – The Rainbow Fish. This allows keeping to the theme without sacrificing the art experience of the child.

Paper plate and a role of crepe paper

Dip crepe paper roll in water and "paint" the paper plate. In our case DS3 was busy stamping.

Attach fin and tail made using the same technique to paper plate

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 5, 2011 in Art & Craft, Reading/Books

 

2 responses to “Crepe Paper Painting Fish Craft

  1. ummtafari

    May 6, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    As salaam alaikum,

    I think I’ve checked this book out from the library before, maashaa Allah.

     
    • Umm Sayang

      May 6, 2011 at 10:39 pm

      Waalaikum Salaam Umm Tafari.
      I have placed a hold for more titles by the same author.

       

Leave a Reply

 
