RSS

F is also for Fish

05 May

DS2 did not enjoy making the recipe for letter F. This idea was conceived while we were grocery shopping.

Live tilapia in a tank

We always visit the fish department and enjoy looking at all the live fish, lobster and crabs. However on this trip DS2 wanted to buy a fish. I explained to him that if we caught a fish and took it out of the tank that it will die. He was undeterred. I was more nervous about the whole affair while he was all excited!

Alhamdulillah we bought a fish. Just a note of caution, the people in the store actually smack the fish with some mallet type gadget to instantly kill it. This was done behind the tank, DS2 did not see it. I did not know this as this was my first ever time buying a live fish. I feel that this should not be the case.

For the next entire day my two little ones often visited the fish at the refrigerator, examined it, marvelled at its skin, eyes etc. F for fish became a delightful chant🙂

Marinating fish

DS2 had very little to do in  the preparation of the recipe except for rubbing on the marinate onto the fish and watching it being baked in the oven. I have to say, he enjoyed the whole experience much, much more than the Fig Cake recipe. Sometimes I want to teach my children, but Allah uses them to teach me. In this case, DS2 got to be excited about the ingredient or the process of making the recipe to enjoy the experience and subsequently learn from it! Lesson learnt Alhamdulillah.

I also took this opportunity to explain to him at his level that we need not slaughter the fish to make it halal for us to it. Insha-Allah I hope this experience will serve as a foundation in teaching him the basics of halal and haram food.

Alhamdulillah our ikan bakar kicap (grilled soya sauce fish).

Ikan bakar kicap

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 5, 2011 in AlphaFood Venture

 

3 responses to “F is also for Fish

  1. Umm Maimoonah

    May 5, 2011 at 5:22 am

    Assalaamu Alaikum!

    Yum Yum! Masha Allaah F is for Fish is really mouth watering learning experience. Glad all of you enjoyed!

     
  2. ummtafari

    May 6, 2011 at 7:30 pm

    As salaam alaikum,

    I remember seeing the fish and lobsters in the tank at the grocery store while I was growing up.

    Did you fillet and skil the fish?

     
    • Umm Sayang

      May 6, 2011 at 10:38 pm

      Waalaikum Salaam Umm Tafari.
      I did not fillet or skin it. The scales and insides of the fish was cleaned off at the store. I just washed it more and marinated it before baking.

       

Leave a Reply

 
