RSS

H for Honey

08 Jun

Alhamdulillah we chose honey as it is a sunnah food and has many healing properties.

Honey is a remedy for every illness and the Qur’an is a remedy for all illness of the mind, therefore I recommend to you both remedies, the Qur’an and honey.
(Bukhari)

…   There comes forth from their bellies, a drink of varying colour wherein is healing for men. Verily, in this is indeed a sign for people who think.

Surah An -Nahl Verse 69

This recipe is called Honey Joys and is from here. I use to make something similar with my mother. Hers had a dough to bind the cornflakes together this one does not. Nevertheless yummy as ever!

Ingredients for honey joys

Preparing trays with paper cups. DS2 enjoyed doing this.

Mixing butter and honey

Only change I made to the recipe was to add some raisin, dried cranberries and chopped pecans . . . I had to add some chewy things as my Amma did🙂

I would  NOT recommend adding raisins as they swell and then harden when the honey joys cool down. I know they worked fine in my mother’s doughy recipe, but not in this though. I spooned the corn flakes into the cup as they were hot! And leave them to really cool down. DS2 found out the hard way . . . ouch!

Alhamdulillah here are our crunchy, yummy honey joys . . . Papa couldn’t get enough of them🙂

Honey joys

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 8, 2011 in AlphaFood Venture, Cooking/Baking

 

One response to “H for Honey

Leave a Reply

 
