RSS

Ramadhan Advent Calendar 2011 / 1432H

03 Aug

Alhamdulillah this is my fourth advent calendar that I have made for DS1. He looks forward to this every year. It has become a sort of tradition for us.

This year I used paper doilies (one of my favourite craft supply) to hold the favours. I made 30 paper doily cones. The pictures below shows the step.

Fold up the bottom bit of the doily

Shape the doily into a cone. Tape the edges to secure. It is easier to use sticky tape rather than glue.

I then used a fabric covered corkboard that my son already had in his room to pin the cones onto. For the numbers, I used some cut out squares and stamped them.

The Ramadhan title was from Ramadhan Planner Family.

This is the finished advent calendar.

Ramadhan Advent Calendar 2011/1432H

Close up

Besides little favours, just as last year I have placed a Ramadhan related question in each cone.

I just realized that I had not posted the advent calendar I made a couple of years ago. Below is a blurred image of it taken with a cellphone. I must have not had a working camera.

Ramadhan Advent Calendar 2009/1430H

This was basically made using white paper bags. One bag for each day of Ramadhan. I pasted some Ramadhan themed graphics on each bag. I then clipped them onto a string over the window.

Since that year school was on for Eid, I also made these paper bags as favours for my sons entire class.

 
17 Comments

Posted by on August 3, 2011 in Ramadan, Ramadan & Eid Crafts Ideas

 

17 responses to “Ramadhan Advent Calendar 2011 / 1432H

  1. Umm Maimoonah

    August 3, 2011 at 3:56 am

    Assalaamu Alaikum!

    Masha Allaah so cute. I know children love these little things and makes it so special for them too. Masha Allaah great Idea. Jazzakillaah Khayr for sharing!

     
  2. حديقة أزهار

    August 3, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    as salaamu alaykum!
    this is so cute! very masculine . . . i’m sure your son loves it!
    and what a creative use of the banner. and i love the southwestern feel.
    for those of us not familiar with an advent calendar, can you explain what it is?
    i just have to put this on my blog!
    ~umm H (ramadhan planner family)

     
  3. ummtafari

    August 3, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    As salaam alaikum,

    I am also attempting to make Ramadan special and sweet. I also think it is important that the children look forward to Ramadan and not dread it by just thinking of it as a month of starvation.

     
  4. Umm Sayang

    August 3, 2011 at 10:59 pm

    Assalamualaikum.
    Umm Maimoonah & Umm Tafari,
    It’s all about making Ramadhan & Eid so special for our children. It’s such a challenge with everything else that’s present these days.

    Umm H,
    Jazakillah for the banner. An advent calendar is simply a countdown calendar. For my son though he looks forward to opening a package at the end of each fasting day. Besides favours, I have a little question card for each day. This year he is using these cards for his Ramadhan journaling.

     
  5. sara

    August 7, 2011 at 6:06 am

    I really like this. Thank you 🙂

     
  6. Amnah

    August 24, 2011 at 7:18 am

    I love the doily cones!! MashaAllah, you have so many cute ideas.

     
  7. Hani

    August 24, 2011 at 7:51 am

    You have been featured at craftionary for your awesome idea. 🙂 Come check it out:http://craftionary.blogspot.com/2011/08/eid-celebration-decoration-ideas-crafts.html
    Thanks for the inspiration. Lovely festive idea!
    You can also grab a featured button and enjoy having it on your blog. A friendly gesture is always appreciated. 🙂
    Eid Mubarak in advance!

     
  8. Hanan Ali

    June 14, 2014 at 4:59 am

    Assalaamu ‘alaykum sis
    This is such a gorgeous and creative calendar. I’ll definitely be making this year, inshaAllaah. I must ask for the measurements of the corkboard please yours ffits all 30. I rreally want to make this
    JazakAllaahu khayr

     
  9. misbah

    June 24, 2014 at 4:08 am

    Mashallah, sharing your cute calender for Ramdan special on my blog http://www.cupcakeluvs.blogspot.dk/

     

Leave a comment